Home » News » Moto sport » MICHAEL DUNLOP WON HIS 16TH RACE


  • Jun 02 2018 16:34 PM GTM
  • Category: Moto sport
  • 2636

Dean Harrison, a new lap record holder, took an incredible pace on the first lap in the opening RST Superbike TT race, setting every single sector record in the process. Unfortunately, a retirement nearly two thirds of the way through the race ruined any hopes of his Superbike victory.

Photo credit:www.iomtt.com (Cummins moved up to second following Harrison's retirement)

Tyco BMW’s Michael Dunlop was second fastest with a 132.943, but managed to become the leader of the race thanks to Dean Harrison, who retired on lap four.

Dunlop confessed, that he dedicates this emotional victory to his teammate Dan Kneen, tragically died in a crash at Churchtown during Wednesday night's practice. After the race, Dunlop said he “just wanted to do that for Dan”.

Conor Cummins was first down Bray Hill on his Padgetts Honda and finished the race second at 131.763. Quattro Plant JG Speedfit Kawasaki’s James Hillier rounded out the top three, 21.6s off the Cummins’s pace, with David Johnson a further 32.7s back from the podium in fourth on his Gulf BMW. Michael Rutter managed to complete the top five on his Bathams BMW after his mechanical dramas on Thursday.

Lee Johnston, Martin Jessopp, Phil Crowe, Josh Brookes and Jamie Coward completed the top ten.

Peter Hickman, Adam Lyon, Fabrice Miguet, Ian Hutchinson, Dominic Herbertson, Daley Mathison, Richard Charlton, Mark Parrett, Andrew Dudgeon and Brian McCormack were also retired.

Provisional RST Superbike TT results:

1. Michael Dunlop

2. Conor Cummins

3. James Hillier

4. David Johnson

5. Michael Rutter

6. Lee Johnston

7. Martin Jessopp

8. Ivan Lintin

9. Philip Crowe

10. Josh Brookes